Recurring Dreams

20 Jun

I’m proud as punch because this post is a part of the SurgeXperiences Blog Carnival.  Which makes me feel that much closer to the OR.  And you know I love me some OR!  (If you can’t get enough of medicine, surgery, etc., be sure to check out all the other blogs…they’re fascinating!)

I’m in Houston for a little visit, and I went a-visiting this morning to my old workplace.  Most of you know by now that I worked for 11 years in the operating room at Texas Children’s Hospital.  It was a wonderful place to work, and everyone was so sweet today.  They made me feel like they really miss me (and it’s summer and very busy, so they probably do, but not because I’m nice or anything).  I even put on a “bunny suit” (you know, those hideous white coveralls) and went behind the doors into the rooms.  It was great.  Like coming home.  

But it’s not like I haven’t seen the inside of an OR recently.  That’s because of these darn recurring dreams I keep having.  I’ve had them over and over since I started my job years ago.  

Usually I’m scrubbed on a case (meaning I’m passing the instruments) and I look down and notice I’m not wearing gloves.  And I realize I’ve contaminated the field, but I don’t want to tell the surgeon.  (Somehow no one in the OR has noticed.)

And then I’ll rescrub but when I go to gown and glove again I keep contaminating myself.  And it happens again and again.  And again.

Or I’m scrubbed and the surgeon is asking me for something and I’m staring at the instruments and can’t for the life of me remember any of their names.  But I’m afraid to ask. 

Every once in a while I dream that I’ve become the patient and I’m being put to sleep, and once I even had to push my own Propofol (give that a shot and see how it works out for ya!). 

Now thankfully I’ve never had a “naked in the OR” dream, ’cause that might mean I’ve got issues.  And I don’t.  I DON’T!  

Anybody else have recurring dreams?  Let’s hear ’em!

10 Responses to “Recurring Dreams”

  1. anymommy June 20, 2008 at 3:58 pm #

    Yep. I’m back in law school and I know there’s a big exam in a few minutes, but I can’t find the room and I can’t remember the subject and I have this horrible anxious pressure in my chest because I haven’t been to the class itself in weeks. I know I must find the room and sit down with time to figure out what the subject matter is and flip through my notes, but I can’t even figure out a question to ask the people streaming past me.

    Control issues, anyone?

  2. Julie June 20, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    I used to have this weird dream about my teeth falling out. I mean really, gross all-of-a-sudden all of my teeth just drop out leaving behind bloody gums. I never told anyone this and spent a lot of grad school trying to decide what it might mean. Then, one day my mom and I were chatting and dreams came up. I shared my strange dream with her and found out that she has the same dream!!! Now I don’t feel nearly so alone in my weirdness…

  3. Erin June 23, 2008 at 8:13 am #

    From the age of 6, I’ve had recurring dreams about Jaws eating my mom. We’ll be running across the ocean on a boardwalk or glass or rocks or something (that’s the only detail that ever changes) and Jaws is chomping away at it behind us. I make it to the other side and at the last minute, my mom drops into his mouth. It’s AWFUL! I have it maybe once a year now, but it was once a week for 5 years when I was a kid. Then once a month. I guess whatever issue I’ve always had is getting better!

  4. Barb June 23, 2008 at 8:33 am #

    I have dreams about something/somebody chasing me and I cannot run to get away. In fact I can barely move at all. I also have dreams where I have some kind of performance (vocal or piano) and I am not prepared. Either I haven’t practiced enough, or I haven’t seen the music yet or I can’t find the stage. So I am panicking of course.

    I need to ask you this one: I have had dreams in the past couple of years where I can’t breathe, then I wake up gasping for air. I wonder if I am really not breathing or just dreaming it???

  5. that girl June 23, 2008 at 8:36 am #

    The only reoccuring ones I have are of me running from someone who’s trying to get me – not always literally running – but trying to escape. It’s always like a scene out of some thriller movie and ‘someone’ is trying to kill me or rape me or something horrible and they just get closer and closer and ineveitably there will be a friend w/ me that will fall or make a wrong move and we just know we’re done for…and then I wake up. I’ve had them since I was a teenager and the theme is always the same.

  6. Kregg June 23, 2008 at 10:10 am #

    I have this reoccuring dream that I am incredibly awesome. Then I wake up to discover it is gloriously, gloriously true.

  7. Jenny, Bloggess June 24, 2008 at 8:33 am #

    I have a recurring dream that Kregg is incredibly awesome. What’s weird is that I had it even before I met Kregg. Weird. It must be a pretty common dream.

  8. The Introvert June 24, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    I have two recurring dreams that have happened for years:

    1) I am back in college and it’s finals time, and I just realized there’s one class I forgot that I signed up for. Now I have to go take the final, and I have never attended the class.

    2) My clothes keep disappearing. One minute I’m clothed, the next I’m completely buck naked and always surrounded by people. I’m sure an interpreter could have a field day with that one.

  9. GiGi June 26, 2008 at 5:25 pm #

    I’m in a car on a freeway, usually in N.O. or over a beautiful forested area. I am on this freeway because I am going to see someone who is very important to me. All of a sudden the freeway comes to an abrupt end in construction. I don’t drop off or anything; I just know that I can’t get to the person.
    P.S. If I should ever die in my sleep, you will know that the freeway was finally completed. (Not being morbid – just honest.)

  10. jen June 27, 2008 at 9:58 pm #

    when i was younger i had a recurring dream that i was being chased around and around a coffee table…and i had to try and call someone from the sesame street phone that was on the table.

    (apparently, i really just wanted the sesame street phone).

    and i don’t know why that sticks with me to this day.

Leave a Reply

