Speaking of Summer…

9 Jun

I can already tell my blogging is going to suffer.  I just flat don’t have time alone to gather my thoughts, much less write a coherent blog.  And forget being witty!  HA!!

Did I say I was excited about summer?  Hmmm…

Well, first off, I have added two exciting links to my blog.  They are mostly exciting because I actually managed to add them, which is a HUGE feat for me.  Now to my bloggy friends, I’m sure you already know all this.  But I have a good number of readers who are of the non-bloggy type (you know, they don’t have stars upon thars…not that there’s anything wrong with that) so I’m gonna lay it out.  First, you can now sign up for an email subscription, which means a happy little note will come to your inbox whenever I post a new blog.  So if you’re tired of checking back, or you’re one of my friends who I hound to read the blog but you’re always forgetting, or if you’re one of my family members who hasn’t figured out how to “add to favorites” (hint hint), you now have another option.  Enjoy!  The second link is more for the bloggers out there.  It’s a feed-reader deal…somebody let me know if it works!!

Now onto the good stuff.  (As if that wasn’t good!!)

This weekend we held the annual garage sale.  We usually start the summer with a good, hot sale.  Because what’s not to love about organizing millions of Barbie pieces into their various sets, schlepping boxes of crap down the stairs and out to the garage, and organizing books and games and clothes and knobs and fixtures and figurines into an attractive retail shop right there in your own garage??  And all this in the 95 degree heat?  Come on.  That’s good times, people!!

Here’s the before pic:

I should be very clear right from the start.  The garage is Hubs’ domain.  (That’s him on the right.)  So if you’re thinking that our garage seems very clean and organized, well, you’re right.  But it’s all him.  If it was my garage it’d be a pit and there wouldn’t be any place to have a garage sale.  I just felt I should clarify.  For his sake. 

We had really good traffic, and were very successful in our little endeavor.  I’m hoping to get a little baby laptop (cross your fingers for me!) and this would make a big dent in the cost.  Now I just have to sweet talk the man. 

I have to tell you about the most interesting customer of the day.  This isn’t her, but she looked just like these ladies. 

Yep.  We had a polygamist family pull up in their brand new truck with a brand new trailer on the back.  The mother and one son were looking for furniture and appliances.  The men stayed in the truck.  I understand that they are laying low for now and not returning to the ranch in El Dorado.  I believe they have purchased homes across Texas where they are presently living.  So I guess a morning trip to our garage sale makes sense.  I asked the young man (about 10) how he was doing and he said “fine” but wouldn’t make eye contact with me.  Very sad.  I’m all about rights, but this whole situation has sort of crossed my line. 

All in all, it was a very busy weekend.  I’m tired and sore, but glad to have been successful.  Our house feels a little bit lighter, and that’s a good thing. 

7 Responses to “Speaking of Summer…”

  1. Cereal Dieter June 9, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    Found your site via AllMediocre.

    Congrats on the successful garage sale… they are a lot of work, but usually worth it in the end!

  2. Joy of Frugal Living June 9, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    I keep thinking I should do a garage sale. I’m glad yours turned out well.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    Jennifer

  3. that girl June 9, 2008 at 4:02 pm #

    I can’t imagine what those kids have been through the last few months..

  4. Julie June 9, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    Enjoy your summer with Abigail… regular blogging can wait until school starts again (which will come soon enough!).

    What an interesting garage sale…I think I would have had to lift my chin off the ground if they had stopped by my house. I just cannot imagine “sharing” my husband with other women (and children??!!).

  5. Jen June 9, 2008 at 11:13 pm #

    I just told a few of my friends about my blog. I’m wondering if they will come by and read often.

    I hope you made enough at your garage sale to buy the laptop. That is really weird about the polygamists showing up.

  6. Pamela Kramer June 12, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    That is the cleanest garage I have ever seen in my life. You are making me want to take a photo of our garage so that you can value my appreciation. I think my dh would kill me if I did that though. LOL

  7. Minivan mom June 18, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    I would make a kickass first wife.

    I’m just sayin’.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

