Summertime and the livin’ is easy

5 Jun

School’s finally out, which means I slept until 8:30 this morning!! 

Can I get a WHAT WHAT???

I love summer.  Well, I love the thought of summer.  The reality of it can certainly bring a girl down (what with the whining, boredom, sun-induced mania, etc.) But today, I’m not going there.  Today, I love summer.  And here are a few of the reasons why:

popsicles (grape bullets rock!)

staying out until the sun goes down, even if it’s 9 o’clock!

the pool, the pool, the pool

sleeping past 8 (heck, sleeping past 7!!)

good movies at the matinee (can’t wait for Kit)

homemade ice cream (mexican chocolate…yu-hum!)

watermelon (I don’t eat it, but I love to serve it.)

grilling with friends

lots of new flip flops (can you really have too many?)

 

So what does summer mean to you??

13 Responses to “Summertime and the livin’ is easy”

  1. Erin June 5, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    I’m like you – I always expect so much out of summer and I almost always have a good time through July 4th. And then it goes downhill… However, for now, I am totally enjoying the pool with the little one. I’m sure it looks like a giant bathtub to her and that’s a little intimidating, but after 5 minutes of crying, she’s really into it. And I love flip flops. And taking summer weekend trips.

  2. Sarah June 5, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    Definitely not flip flops. They hurt my feet (yes, I’m serious).

    But I’m trying to not let summertime disappoint me this year. (note: trying). I have plans and hopes….but they aren’t obscene or over the top. Just simple little hopes…:D

  3. jvalways June 5, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    pool. grill. cold beer. italian ice.

  4. Andrea @ Sweet Life June 5, 2008 at 3:31 pm #

    Summer means not having to be so rigid about schedules. Enjoying my oldest before she goes off to all-day Kindergarten in the fall! Eating outside most nights. Sleeping with the windows open, and hearing the sound of a fan whirring. Summer is my favorite season of ALL!

    By the way… thanks for commenting at Sweet Life!

  5. Julie June 5, 2008 at 8:31 pm #

    I love this post. I’m SO into summer this year, mainly, I think, because my little one was in “real” school last year and now we finally have a break to all hang out at home together.

    My top summer picks are making s’mores on the grill every chance we get, not having to pack lunches or lay out clothes for the next day, not worrying about bedtimes, swimming and counting that as bath time, staying in nightgowns until noon, fresh fruit from the farmer’s market, and popcicles!

  6. The Introvert June 5, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    Well, most of the time, it means me looking out the window of my office wishing I could be lying on the beach somewhere. BUT it also means river trips (my favorite), sundresses, barbeque, an anniversary excursion with hubby, and Vegas, baby, Vegas.

  7. kathrynsmoore June 6, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    Erin – just thought of this…summer also means the annual karaoke bash!!

    Sarah – sad for you about the flip flops. Can you wear crocs at least?? One day at a time, sister!!

    jvalways – I think you can get italian ice down here, but I don’t know where. I’ll have to look for it!

    Sweet Life – I’m very jealous that you get to sleep with the windows open. WOW!!

    Julie – we ate brownies for breakfast this morning, and we might not take off our pjs until just before Daddy gets home!!

    Introvert – I need a sundress. I’ve been looking; in fact I think I’ve tried on at least 17 of them, but I haven’t found anything so far.

    Thanks for playing, everybody!!

  8. that girl June 6, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    I love summer today too, but thank the Lord I dont’ have to work outside like some folks.

    Summer means flashbacks of the lake, freckles, the smell of chlorine, and late nights..

  9. Barb June 6, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Summer means trips to grandparent’s house, the firefly show at 9:00 every night in the backyard until you can’t stand the mosquitoes anymore, having time to read an entire book, walking the dog every morning, and walking to the pool in the afternoons.

  10. jen @ coconutbelly June 6, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    never too many flipflops.
    nuf said.

  11. Jen June 6, 2008 at 10:09 pm #

    Summer is my favorite season! I just like not being cold. I hate being cold. Also, I’ll take the “I’m Boreds” anyday just to be able to sleep in. I’ll add to your list–trips to the beach and amusement parks!

  12. anymommy June 7, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    Um, can you come to my house and get my kids to sleep until 8? Please? I could use some of that summertime magic!!

  13. Kelly @ Love Well June 8, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    Summer is my favorite season by far. I could easily take over your blog with all the things I love about it. How about I just list three:
    – days spent at the lake
    – sunburn on my nose
    – fresh peaches.

    Now, if summer would just get to the Northern U.S.

    (P.S. You won one of the Matt Maher CDs!)

Leave a Reply

