Authorized Personnel Only – Neurosurgery

3 Jun

It’s a very good thing that I have all that OR experience, because we’ve had a terrible accident at our house. 

6/3/08   3:10pm

S- Patient’s mother says girl’s head came off at school.  Denies any pulling or fighting which may have caused the accident.  States that patient has been unresponsive since then.  Mother is unusually calm and seems be in a bit of denial about the incident.

O- Patient’s head is detached from body.

A-Surgery required to reattach head.  All other systems within normal limits (!)

P-Neurosurgery at bedside.  Emergency procedure scheduled with OR charge nurse for this afternoon.

3:15 – Arrived in OR.  Patient did not require induction, as the airway was detached from the lungs.  No O2 support or monitors used.  Anesthesia at bedside for observation only. 

3:16 – Neuro, Ortho, and Vascular teams at bedside.  Patient prepped and draped in the usual fashion by K. Moore, RN.

3:17 – Head was reattached using the screw-on method by Dr. Soandso.  A simple knot was used to close the wound.  Surgical site left open to air. 

3:18 – Patient taken to recovery in stable condition. 

3:21 – After three minutes of observation, patient discharged to play with mother. 

 Just another day in the life…

 

PS.  If you’re interested in REAL neurosurgery, check out the anesthesioboist’s blog today.  It’s good stuff.

 

17 Responses to “Authorized Personnel Only – Neurosurgery”

  1. Julie June 3, 2008 at 4:19 pm #

    Oh My Gosh!! I laughed until I cried…good thing I put the Diet Coke down before I started reading or I would have had that gross feeling of carbonated liquid rushing out of my nose! Thanks for the laugh!

  2. T June 3, 2008 at 6:45 pm #

    I think this has to be one of my favorite posts of all time. Thanks for the link-back!

  3. Sarah June 3, 2008 at 7:07 pm #

    *LOL* Love it!! Wonderful recording of the events!! So glad recovery was complete!!

  4. anymommy June 3, 2008 at 10:12 pm #

    It looks like the surgery was a total success. Really funny!

  5. justkara June 4, 2008 at 6:32 am #

    I am so glad that after tomorrow, I too will have time to make creative posts with visual aides! (Not that I will, but I will have the time!)

  6. AMomTwoBoys June 4, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    Ha! Are stairs considered a proper place for neurosurgery?

  7. Minivan mom June 4, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    Hysterical! Love it!

  8. Jenny June 5, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    So cute and funny! Thanks for the laugh!

  9. S of 52 Faces June 5, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    Oh that is hilarious!

    Thank you for visiting 52 Faces. I really like the green theme – green is both my best friend AND my boyfriend’s favorite color.

  10. Kimberlee June 10, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    Girl…you need to go back to work! You must be totally bored!Great technique! 🙂

  11. Vaniqua June 11, 2008 at 8:37 pm #

    Best one yet. You outdid yourself on this one. Just looking at the surgical instruments made me queasy.

  12. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle June 15, 2008 at 9:58 pm #

    Very funny! So glad to hear that the patient survived and has made a good recovery.

  13. Kellen August 27, 2008 at 12:53 am #

    haha soo funny, couldn’t stop laughing, soda came out my nose lol it burns

    my blog isn’t funny… but you might like it?

    http://talkingatyou.blogspot.com

  14. Lotta August 27, 2008 at 10:06 pm #

    That’s fantastic! My dad used to be a hospital chaplain. When he heard that my sister and I brought a dead squirrel into the house to show mom he came through. Brought home a surgical kit from his work and we had a squirrel autopsy.

  15. lookingforlifeshumor September 12, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Does the doctor take plastic dinosaur cases? We’ve had a few of those in our household… Take care and thanks for the great story!

  16. Slotvent January 31, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    If only the doc could fix an action man my son broke.

  17. dragonfly March 11, 2009 at 6:31 am #

    thats brilliant. ROFL.

Leave a Reply

