Are you smarter than a 3rd grader??

28 May

In place of English 101, today we will look at another subject:  geography.

 

This year I’ve taken a refresher course in my times tables, long division, the solar system, a slew of spelling, book reports galore, and now, civics.  In other words, we’re almost through with 3rd grade!

 

Sweet Pea has been studying the states for the last two weeks.  This study will culminate in a big ol’ test right here at the end of the year.  She will have to write all 50 states on a map.  Sound easy? 

 

Then here’s today’s challenge:  http://www.addictinggames.com/50states.html.  This is a GREAT game to test your knowledge of the 50 states.  You have to click and drag the state to its correct location.  The score is based on the number you get correct, plus the average number of miles you are from the right spot. 

 

I’ve been studying, so maybe I have a leg up on the competition.  My score was:

42 out of 51 perfect

Score 82.35

Time 319 seconds.

 

Don’t be a wimp…take the test, then tell me how you did!!

8 Responses to “Are you smarter than a 3rd grader??”

  1. Erin May 28, 2008 at 10:50 am #

    I love that you posted this:

    43 out of 52 PERFECT
    Score: 84.31
    Time 188 seconds

    I rock on the states…

  2. Inzaburbs May 28, 2008 at 6:31 pm #

    Ouch. Well at least I got Texas and the states with squiggly bits…
    Before we came to the US we used to play a “Name the 52 States” game. Over and over and over and still between the two of us we could never get them all, let alone put them on a map 😦
    In only two years we can apply for citizenship, and I am hoping this will not be part of the test.

  3. runlikemad May 29, 2008 at 8:09 am #

    91.9, average error of 10 miles. (one of my mistakes was because I was too lazy to scroll down to place Alaska right on the spot)

    But don’t ask me about Capitols. I never had to memorize thoose.

  4. kathrynsmoore May 29, 2008 at 4:55 pm #

    Kudos to you ladies for accepting the challenge!! Congrats to runlikemad who is in the lead with the top score.

  5. Julie May 29, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    Not touching this one with a ten foot pole! I SO stink at geography, but my husband rocks at it-I’ll have to get him to take the test!

  6. Z May 31, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    46 out of 51 … 0 mile error … 273 seconds … (but this is my second try)

  7. Z May 31, 2008 at 5:03 pm #

    though, um, HOW did I have 51 “turns” ?!?! 50 states, 51 turns – WHA?!?!

  8. Vaniqua June 11, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    OK, the freakiness continues. I too got 82.35 points. Average of 30 miles away. I’m slow at 509 seconds – didn’t realize it was timed at first. The midwest sucks!

Leave a Reply

