The Great American Popcorn Machine

27 May

Hubs and I were talking to Sweet Pea over dinner the other night.  We were regaling her with tales of life in the olden days…you know, when we were kids.  For some reason, the conversation turned to family movie night. 

 

Remember?

 

You had to have an early dinner and get your bath so that you could be in front of the TV at 7:00 for whatever the show was:  Wonderful World of Disney, The Muppet Show, or better yet, a Special.  You remember Specials, right?  The Dolly Parton Christmas Special, The John Denver Special (I have a great story about that one…I’ll have to tell it one day), The Liza Minelli Special (which spurred a line that is still spoken in my family:  Did you see…how he mastered…those suspendahs??  Guess you had to be there.)

 

The best part of the night was before the show even started.  After our baths,  we would gather in the kitchen to make the popcorn.  As a family.  Because it was a whole big event.  We had a totally awesome popcorn popper, and I remember gathering around with my brothers and watching it pop, smelling the buttery goodness…ooh, that was good.  This was our totally awesome popcorn popper:

 

You can’t argue with me.  That is a totally awesome popcorn popper.  Right???

 

We each got a little bowl with popcorn and then we’d sit down for an hour of good old-fashioned television entertainment.

 

Of course Sweet Pea didn’t believe that we couldn’t record the show, or pause the television, or put the popcorn in the microwave.  Her response, to be exact, was “I don’t think I would’ve liked to live back in the old days.” 

 

You know you’re old when your kid refers to the time of your childhood as “the old days”. 

 

Well, those days may have been old, but we sure did pop some darn good popcorn.  Mm-mm!!

8 Responses to “The Great American Popcorn Machine”

  1. Mel May 27, 2008 at 1:09 pm #

    Hi, just wandered over from allmediocre! To tell you the truth, I kinda miss using a popcorn maker. Microwave popcorn just isn’t the same. And I DEFINITELY miss The Wonderful World of Disney!

  2. Barb May 27, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    Love the Muppet Show, of course!! I bought some DVDs and now my kids can enjoy it too. Woo hoo!

  3. Julie May 28, 2008 at 3:39 pm #

    We got a “Whirly Popper” for Christmas a few years ago to pop the “old fashioned” kind of popcorn! It really does taste so much yummier than the stuff you microwave!

  4. kathrynsmoore May 29, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    The more I think about it, the more I think I want to get a real popcorn popper. I think I’ll price them out the next time I’m at Target.

  5. that girl June 6, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    Oh my gosh! you’re making me all nostalgic lady!

    And yes, Wonderful world of Disney was beyond exciting. Tell her not only could we not record it, ..it was one of the ONLY kids shows on at night. No cartoon network back then baby!

  6. Fleadon July 19, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    Just bought the Great American Popcorn Machine (like your’s in the pic) today at a garage sale. Not sure how to use the thing but we are going to fire it up tonight for the grandkids. Wish us luck. Thanks, Fleadon

  7. MeliBlue September 29, 2008 at 4:57 am #

    Oh, I wish that I could find another one of these. My Dad got one for Christmas when I was a teen in the 1970’s and he just loved it and all of us enjoyed making popcorn in it. As for instructions all I remember was coatng the bottom with a little oil and spreading the kernels across the bottom. The plastic top had to be removed and then the butter put on top at the end to melt down on the popcorn. That kind of popcorn was indeed so much better than the microwave variety. Yeah, getting old too.

  8. Reed Harvey January 6, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Hello,
    I am the owner of bestpopcornmachine.com and I noticed your site has articles that people enjoy to read about.I hope to expand my Popcorn Machine site.I was hoping you would be interested in a link exchange with me to increase the amount of traffic towards your site as well as mine.

    Thank you Kindly,
    Reed Harvey

Leave a Reply

