The Truth About Texas

23 May

My hubs and I visited New York City recently and we were tickled by the responses we got when we told people were from Texas.  Our favorite was “You don’t talk funny”.  My gracious husband replied “Well, we do have cities there you know.” 

 

See, this guy, like so many others, assumed that because we live in Texas we must live on a cattle ranch and drive a truck and wear boots and chew straw.  And talk funny. 

 

We don’t. 

 

But today I had one of those quintessential Texas experiences that I had to share.  I went to brunch at a fine Texas lady’s house.  Now this house was in the country…I guess you could call it a ranch.  And who was there to greet us as we entered the property but this guy and a few of his friends.

 

So I guess some of the rumors are true. 

 

Think I’ll go chew some straw.

 

Have a good weekend, y’all!!

7 Responses to “The Truth About Texas”

  1. The Introvert May 23, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    I know what you mean. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been asked if I rode horses to school and live on a ranch. But before I moved to the D/F-dub, I did drive past a field of goats, a field of longhorns, and a lonely horse every morning on my way to work. No, I didn’t live in the country. Development was still working its way to our neighborhood.

  2. natalie May 23, 2008 at 3:37 pm #

    we are from texas too! we lived in a subdivision in houston before moving overseas. at the end of our street there was a gully separating our neighborhood from the country. right on the other side of the gully and behind a barbed wire fence were longhorns. it was strange to see because it didn’t fit in with the neighborhood at all! my kids loved to take walks down there to the country!

  3. Julie May 23, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    Well, yee-haw and hooray for Texas!!

    When we lived in the U.K. when I was growing up, the T.V. show Dallas was very popular. Everyone thought we must live on something equivalent to South Fork Ranch and wear cowboy hats all the time and drill for oil in the back yard among our horses! It was quite humorous!!

  4. Sophie May 23, 2008 at 9:04 pm #

    Julie – you mean to say you don’t wear cowboy hats all the time and drill for oil in your back yard – I do! 😉

    I love longhorns. Or at least the thought of them. After 3 years in Texas I don’t think I have actually ever seen one. Great picture!

  5. Barb May 25, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    Love it!! Tell us more about your fine Texas lady friend. I can just picture her fancy outfit and big hair–am I right??

  6. kathrynsmoore May 25, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    Barb, you are SO right! She is older, so she has the big blonde bouffant. She wore a blue bedazzled pantsuit with sensible but stylish shoes. A lovely lady, fer sure!!

  7. GiGi May 26, 2008 at 10:58 am #

    In a word…TEXAS is a ‘whole nother country’. T’was that way from the beginning and forever shall be. That’s what the rest of the WORLD believes and we, those of us who reside in Texas, are all part and parcel of it just by association.

Leave a Reply

