Hug your Kids

22 May

I read the awful news this morning about Steven Curtis Chapman’s daughter’s death yesterday.  This is so terribly sad.  We just don’t expect a life to end at age 4 or 5.  It’s not right. 

 

So this morning, this terrible morning where I’ve yelled and my daughter and she’s yelled at me and I’ve wished that I didn’t have to deal with all of this crap, this morning I’m reminded again that she is a gift.  And that it’s a gift we won’t have forever.  And that I need to be grateful. 

 

God, help me be grateful. 

 

Pray for the Chapman family…there are five kids that just lost a sister, and the pain of losing your sibling is beyond belief.  I know, I’ve been there.  And there are two parents who lost their precious girl…that pain surely defies description. 

One Response to “Hug your Kids”

  1. Julie May 22, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    I had a reminder of this same thing yesterday morning as I watched the news of a man who had beaten his 3-year-old stepdaughter to death. I cried as I imagined how terrified this little one must have been as the cocaine-induced rage of her stepfather poured out on her and eventually killed her.

    My prayers are with all of the Chapman family- especially with Maria’s brother who was driving the vehicle that killed her.

    A good reminder to hug our kids…embrace our imperfection…and cherish each day we have together.

Leave a Reply

