English 101 – Mags

22 May

This should have been posted yesterday, but apparently I forgot to hit PUBLISH.  Duh.

 

Today we will take a little stroll over to another area of the bookstore that I love to linger in…the periodicals!

 

I am a confessed magazine addict.  It’s so bad that for Lent this year I gave up purchasing any magazines.  The only ones I allowed myself to read were the ones that came to my house via subscription.  This was a HUGE sacrifice for me.  Stupid, I know, but man did I think about Jesus every time I was at the grocery store and wanted to pick up a People or US Weekly or Lucky or InStyle or Texas Monthly or Living…you see what I mean?  Addicted.

 

Actually, the Lent thing had a great impact on our budget, because I finally broke the habit.  Since Easter I’ve only bought ONE magazine at the grocery store.  (Full disclosure:  that will become two later today because the pictures of Jenna Bush’s wedding have been released and I need details.)

 

Now, there are other magazines that I have subscriptions to which were not off the plate: 

Entertainment Weekly – I read it cover to cover EVERY week. 

Real Simple  – My subscription just expired and I didn’t renew…their ideas are great but I wasn’t using them.  Life is more fun when it’s complicated, right?  Simple, shmimple. 

Family Fun – Obviously.

Brain, Child – Moms, pick up a copy of this one the next time you’re at Barnes and Noble.  (You might have to dig for it.  It’s usually between Natural Mothering and Cricket.)  This is a hilarious “essay-style” magazine for progressive moms.  (I guess I’m a sorta-progressive mom…these women are SERIOUSLY progressive. Still, the writing is incredible and I always laugh til it hurts.)

Relevant – a Christian magazine that mixes pop culture with theology.  Good articles.  And not too conservative, which I appreciate.  (In other words, the Velveeta isn’t melting.)

 

I’d love to hear what magazines (if any) you can’t live without.  Maybe I’ll find a new one to add to my list!!

 

7 Responses to “English 101 – Mags”

  1. Julie May 22, 2008 at 8:26 pm #

    I love Parents and Redbook…I subscribe to those. I also enjoy Southern Living which I also subscribe to. I used to love reading any celebrity gossip kind of mag when I got my nails done, but budget cuts hit when I cut my client load and unfortunately the nail thing got nixed for now!

  2. Barb May 22, 2008 at 9:26 pm #

    Okay, you’re going to laugh, but here is my magazine subscription list: Reader’s Digest, Instructor (by Scholastic), Attention (by CHADD), and Phi Delta Kappan (teacher organization). I also subscribe to the Sunday edition of the Washington Post, which I really enjoy. It usually takes me all week to read it; that’s why I only get it on Sunday! Yes, I know, it is not a magazine, but it is a subscription so I am including it. 🙂

  3. kathrynsmoore May 22, 2008 at 11:10 pm #

    Julie, these nails are being done at home as well. Good thing we have all the great magazine articles to give us tips on the perfect home manicure!

    Barb, I’d love to get the Sunday Times for the same reason, but I just haven’t been able to justify it. However, I recently got a coupon for a subscription to NY Magazine for $13.67 for 40 issues. That may be a deal I can’t pass up!!

  4. The Introvert May 23, 2008 at 12:14 am #

    I, too, am a magazine addict. However, I am a very cheap magazine addict, so I go to Barnes and Noble or Hastings a couple of times a month and read. I mean, not only do I love Domino, Glamour, InStyle, and Texas Monthly, being a graphic designer, I like to read How and Print….which are like $30. So, yeah. I can’t bring myself to spend $70 on magazines.

  5. Erin May 23, 2008 at 6:48 am #

    I’m with you – Entertainment Weekly is one I must have. That and People. The other one I get is Parents – I love that one!

  6. anymommy May 25, 2008 at 11:33 pm #

    Brain, Child is one of my favorite magazines. The content is amazing!

  7. Connie May 31, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    I like to think that I am a foodie so I get Food & Wine, Bon Appeit and Gourmet. I just cancelled Gourmet however, because it had too many articles and not enough pictures of yummy food.

    I subscribed to Cookie because they sent me a letter telling me that I was the hot, fabulous Mommy that they were looking for. I am a sucker.

    Redbook was a little too smutty for me. LOL!

Leave a Reply

