English 101 – A Book Meme

14 May

 

Alright, let’s start today’s entry with a definition. 

Meme – an idea, belief or belief system, or pattern of behavior that spreads throughout a culture either vertically by cultural inheritance (as by parents to children) or horizontally by cultural acquisition (as by peers, information media, and entertainment media) OR in blogspeak, an idea that is spread from blog to blog. 

 

It’s basically a quiz.  I answer the questions.  Then you comment and answer the questions too.  See how this works?  So I expect some comments, people!!  (BTW, you definitely don’t have to answer all of these.  Just pick your faves and fill me in!)  This particular meme was shamelessly stolen from Shannon at Rocks In My Dryer.  Thanks Shannon!

 
Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?  Hardback only if I’m going to display it in my house.  Otherwise, trade paperback.

 

Amazon or brick and mortar? I love both.  I like to keep a wish list on Amazon and then consult it when I’m looking for a new book.  I also love Amazon for purchasing Vocal Selection books from musicals.  Their prices and selection can’t be beat!  But I love to browse on my feet, so brick and mortar is still perfect for an evening stroll with coffee in hand. 

 

Barnes & Noble or Borders?   B&N is my favorite, although I’d be happy for them to build either one nearby.  Right now I’m 10-15 minutes away. 

 

Bookmark or dogear?   Dogear.  Drives my daughter nuts.  She’s a bookmark girl.

 

Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random?   Organize by type, but that’s it.  Now my spice rack is another story…

 

Keep, throw away, or sell?   Never, never, never throw away.  That is absolutely distasteful to me.  I’ll sell to half-price if I don’t think I’ll read it again.  I’ve run out of room to keep everything, so I have to make hard choices.  Some day I’ll have a room with built-ins on at least three walls and all of my precious books will have a home.  Maybe then I’ll alphabetize them…or better yet I’ll implement the Dewey Decimal System…I can imagine it now…

 

Keep dustjacket or toss it?  Toss it.  I always felt guilty about it, but I had two different friends in Houston who taught me the value of the toss. 

 

Read with dustjacket or remove it?  See above.

 

Short story or novel?   Novel.  I don’t like short stories…they’re too, I don’t know, short.

 

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?  Neither.  See above.

 

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?  Gonna have to go with Mr. Potter on this one.  Abigail and I made it halfway through the series last year before it got too intense and we put the whole thing on hold.  I’m waiting for her to be ready again. 

 

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?  I try to make it to chapter breaks, but if I’m just too tired I’ll have to re-read it anyway. 

 

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?  Definitely Once Upon a Time.  I’m not a mystery girl. 

 

Buy or Borrow?  Back when we were a two-income household I was a serious book-buyer.  And if you knew what I spent now you’d think I still am.  But I have made serious cuts in the book budget, and I’m weaning myself from all the purchasing.  I was recognized at the Boerne library the other day, so I must be making some progress! 

 

New or used?  Depends on the book.

 

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?  Personal recommendation. 

 

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?  Tidy ending.  Definitely.  And preferably a happy ending to boot. 

 

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? Nighttime.  I can read magazines in the afternoon, but not books.  Of course that’s mostly because I know I’ll be interrupted and I HATE to be interrupted in the middle of a good book. 

 

Stand-alone or series? Now that I’m an adult I go for stand-alone. 

 

Favorite series? Little House on the Prairie.  Hands down.  No contest. 

 

Favorite children’s book?  This is really, really hard.  Favorite authors for young children are Jamie Lee Curtis and Eric Carle.  Favorite book?  This year we’ve read Ida B and Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters.  Both were totally fantastic.  (See my page:  Book Recommendations for Girls)

 

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?  Broadway Nights:  A Romp of Life, Love, and Musical Theatre by Seth Rudetsky. 

 

Favorite books read last year?  I really enjoyed The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls and Fortune’s Rocks by Anita Shreve.  I also read two plays that I liked:   Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf and A Streetcar Named Desire.

Favorite books of all time?   What an incredibly hard question!  All time??  The Little House Series.  My whole childhood was based around these books, and although my lifestyle now is nothing prairie-like (unless you count the drainage “crik” behind my house) I’d like to think I came out with a little bit of Ma’s patience, Mary’s caring, and Laura’s pluck. 

 

Least favorite book you finished last year?  I Am Charlotte Simmons.  Complete waste of time.  I didn’t even finish it. 

 

What are you reading right now?  The Bridesmaids by Judy Quine (Very interesting story of the girls who were bridesmaids for Grace Kelly.)  Also The Call by Os Guinness.  (My dad recommended this one and it’s pretty heavy, but really good.)  And I’m reading a play by Tennessee Williams:   Summer and Smoke.

 

What are you reading next?   My neighbor loaned me Running With Scissors.  I’m also in line for Friday Night Knitting Club at the library.  There’s a couple of opposites, huh?

3 Responses to “English 101 – A Book Meme”

  1. HRH May 15, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    Found you through AllMediocre. This is a fun meme. I can never bring myself to throw away the dust covers…but I want to.

  2. Julie May 15, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    My favorite series is the Mitford series by Jan Karon…try it…always a tidy ending and LOTS of happy endings with fabulous, loveable characters. Easy, light bedtime reading that makes for sweet dreams!

  3. Barb May 16, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    Okay I am feeling sad now because I haven’t been reading like I used to. Once I started working on my master’s degree, all I have read are textbooks!! Now I only read the stories that I teach my students. My youngest daughter and I have enjoyed many of the Ramona books and most recently a Paddington Bear book. As I was reading Paddington, I would notice that my older two kids had snuck in the room to listen and that was very nice. Katy, I haven’t read the Little House books, but have introduced the TV show to my kids and they love it, of course.

    Shame on you for dog-earing the pages of a book!! Books deserve a bookmark! And I don’t throw away the book jacket, but my kids lose them for me. I organize my books by subject and I don’t hesitate to buy a book that I know I will use as a reference. I probably have more non-fiction than fiction on my bookshelf right now, but I would have to check that for accuracy. This wasn’t one of your questions, but I LOVE to look at people’s bookshelves when I visit someone. You can learn a lot about a person by checking out their book collection!

Leave a Reply

