Namesakes

7 May

My girlfriend and I were talking about our pets’ names and where they came from.  My sweet puppers is named Maggie, after another friend’s beautiful golden/Irish setter mix (seen here in her New Year’s Eve finery!).   

 

 

 

 

 So, what are your pets’ names and who are they named for?

5 Responses to “Namesakes”

  1. Barb May 7, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    Our dog’s name is Rudy because he was a Christmas gift and Lauren wanted to name him Rudolph. Paul said no way, but compromised with Rudy. My mom teased us because she thought we named him Rudy after the Rudy T’s barbecue restaurant in San Antonio.

  2. Erin May 8, 2008 at 6:52 am #

    My dog Gracie was named by her previous owner, but it’s perfect. My other dog is Valjean and that’s b/c I had always wanted a Bichon named after Jean Valjean from Les Miserables. Bichon’s get the beards when they get older and it always reminded me of Valjean. Anyway, we call him Bobo. My dog when I was a kid was Wendy. My brother and I flipped a coin on who would get to name her and Travis won. He named her after Wendy Richter of GLOW wrestling fame. I like to pretend it was after Wendy in Peter Pan…

  3. Ivy May 8, 2008 at 12:26 pm #

    I wish that my Maggie had a wonderful reason why she was named that…since she has a namesake and all. But really, she just looked sweet like a Maggie. I never thought of any other names. I just put her in the car with me and my friends and they said, “What are you going to call her?” And I said, “I don’t know. What do you think of Maggie?” Because that’s who she is! She’s the MAG!! The Magenscrod! The Maggaroni and Cheese! The Magazine! The Sir Mags-a-lot!!!!

  4. janemumey May 8, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    When we went to the Citizens for Animal Protection during a 2nd grade Brownie trip – it was decided we would go back and “rescue” a kitty. My 5 year old son sat down in the middle of the room of cages to look. A litter of 5 kitty’s was just being brought in and a little yellow tabby jumped in his lap and he said “well, hello Jelly” – sister got to add her “bean” therefore Jellybean it was.

  5. O'Dell May 12, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    My Goldendoodle is named Izabel after Izzie on “Grey’s Anatomy”.

Leave a Reply

