Deep Thoughts…by Miss Abigail

4 May

Last night Abigail and I had an interesting conversation.  It went a little something like this:

 

Abigail:  Mom, did you know that God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are all the same person?

 

Me:  Yes, that’s called The Trinity.  (This is great, we’re talking about the Trinity, she’s really starting to get the deeper parts of Christianity, maybe we’ll talk about salvation…)  The Holy Spirit lives inside you, Jesus is the man who walked on the Earth,

 

Abigail:  and God is up in the sky somewhere.  But we can’t see Jesus.  We don’t know what color hair or skin He has.  What if He came back to Earth?  Then we could see Him.  But what if He forgot to put his clothes on and He came back naked???  (Fits of giggles, because when you’re 9 the word naked gets you every time.)

 

Me:  (long pause…what in the world is the appropriate response…Jesus naked?  That’s blasphemy.  It’s sacrelig.  It’s yucky.  I don’t want to think about Jesus naked.  Ew.)  I’m sure He’d remember to wear clothes, honey.  Let’s go to sleep. 

 

So much for the deep discussion. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Deep Thoughts…by Miss Abigail”

  1. Patrick May 4, 2008 at 11:49 pm #

    Awesome job on raising such an intelligent and spiritual young lady. You and Lane are doing a great job. One of the things that helped me to understand the Trinity when I was very young was when my pastor told me that it is like ice, water, and steam – one substance but three forms. He said that they were one and the same. God in 3 persons – Blessed Trinity! Right then and there it clicked for me. I’ve been attending a good UMC up here in Dallas, but I really miss my UMC in Houston.

  2. Ivy May 8, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    AHAHAHAHAHAAAA

  3. janemumey May 10, 2008 at 2:50 pm #

    Today Jack asked how do people get to heaven. I told him – they “float” up to sit next to Jesus and God….

    He thought a minute and told me he understood, just like when you let go of a helium balloon – it floats up until you can’t see it, but you know it is still there.
    Good visual picture I thought…..

  4. Michael May 11, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    Ah, kids and their conversations. What starts out one way inevitably ends up another. I remember once my daughter asked me, “Who was born first, Jesus or God?” I, too, thought, we were going to have a nice theological conversation. Alas, that thought lasted no longer than a few seconds before she was off on some other topic. That’s what makes children so fun. The great thing is that they tend to remember those short random conversations quite well.

Leave a Reply

