Let’s Talk Television

2 May

So I’m not as much of an addict as I used to be, but I definitely still have my shows.  Masterpiece Theatre, of course, and then it’s all reality.  American Idol (to be honest I tivo this and then fast forward because I’m not willing to sit through some of them), America’s Next Top Model (yep, I’m admitting it straight up), and then I kick it old-school:  Survivor. 

 

Are any of y’all watching Survivor??  It has been GREAT this season.  They keep blindsiding each other and it’s made for a VERY interesting season.  And to make it even juicier they’ve filmed a web-series called Ponderosa which shows what happens after they get kicked off.  Nice.

 

Also, this week we’ve been watching a 10-part series on PBS called Carrier.  I don’t know why, but both my husband and I are very interested in the military, and we love these documentaries.  This is by far the best I’ve seen.  They follow a bunch of men and women aboard the USS Nimitz during it’s deployment to Iraq and it is fascinating.  They’re replaying it this weekend, so if you have a chance to catch it I highly recommend doing so.  But be warned, it is seriously addictive.  (Shout-out to Major Paul Talley and his wife Barbara serving in the Air Force and Sergeant Matt Lewis and his wife Kristi serving in the Army…LOVE YOU!!)

5 Responses to “Let’s Talk Television”

  1. The Introvert May 2, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    I no longer have DVR or cable at my house, so I miss most of my shows (How I Met Your Mother and The Office are the main ones I care about). But it does make me go to the gym and stay on the elliptical through Must See TV so I can watch my shows. My hips and butt thank me.

  2. Kelly @ Love Well May 3, 2008 at 1:43 pm #

    I’ve also caught bits and pieces of “Carrier” this week, and I’m completely fascinated. I lived in San Diego (where the Nimitz is usually docked) for 10 years, and I have many friends in the Navy. It’s really addictive to see what they go through on that ship on a day-to-day basis.

    It’s also made me homesick for those jets. We always lived near Miramar. We had F-16s flying over our house all day long. (Back when it was a Navy base. It’s a Marine base now; not sure what kind of planes they have there.)

  3. Kim K May 3, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    I am absolutely convinced that I would win survivor if I were to be put on this reality show (this statement always makes my husband laugh, but I stand by my belief).

    I do confess that several other reality TV shows catch my eye and seem entertaining enough (my sister can’t get enough of Top Model), but do not get DVR’d in my house like Survivor does.

  4. AMomTwoBoys May 4, 2008 at 11:19 am #

    For whatever reason I can’t get into Idol this season. I haven’t watched more than 10 minutes total.

    Wasn’t it AWESOME when Amanda pulled out that idol this week? Ha! LOVED it!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. Barb May 4, 2008 at 4:51 pm #

    Thanks for the Shout-Out!

    As for TV, I love American Idol, but that is the only show I watch. David Cook rocks!

    I have not even heard of Carrier: that shows you how “out of it” I am!

Leave a Reply

