Texas History

25 Apr

Good Morning Class. 

 

Today is Fiesta Day in San Antonio.  Now, before moving here I had never heard of Fiesta, but around these parts, it’s a big ol’ deal.  It’s even a school holiday!!  So what is Fiesta?  I thought you’d never ask.

 

Fiesta is a 10 day celebration in April that commemorates our loss at the Alamo as well as the victory at the Battle of San Jacinto.  (For those of you non-Texans, that’s when we won our indepedence from Mexico.)  There are over 100 events associated with Fiesta, including a marathon, daytime and nighttime parades, fairs, and on and on.  It’s basically Mardi Gras, but there’s no king cake, beads, doubloons, or boobs (so I’ve heard.)

 

Unfortunately the weather’s supposed to be terrible today (hail and everything) so I’m sure most of today’s events will be rained out.  Bummer.  I for one am headed to Wal-mart for some essentials and then a day of house-cleaning…that’s a Fiesta all on it’s own, no?

 

Well, that’s your Texas History lesson for today.  Quiz tomorrow!!

2 Responses to “Texas History”

  1. Barb April 27, 2008 at 3:31 am #

    Please save some cascarones for me!! Have any of the “native” moms shown you how to make them?? Viva Fiesta!

  2. estallings0911 April 28, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    Can I just tell you how jealous I am that you don’t work? I want to go to Wal-Mart in the middle of the day! Actually, I’m lying. I hate Wal-Mart. THANKS FOR THE HISTORY LESSON!

Leave a Reply

