I’M BACK!!!

23 Apr

And I’m SO glad.  So, so, so glad.  Now for the serious stuff:

 

I’m not a very patient person.  In fact, I’d go so flat out admit that I’m decidedly IMpatient (and I don’t admit much.)  I think it’s gotten worse as I’ve grown older, which might have to do with working in the operating room for so many years.  You just don’t want anyone to have to wait for anything when there’s a little person lying on the table.  So you learn to do things very fast.  And you expect others to do the same.  I even walk fast.  It’s sort of ridiculous.

 

Anyway, this weekend we went to Houston to see the HITS production of Peter Pan at Miller Outdoor Theatre.  For those of you who aren’t Houstonites, Miller is a huge amphitheater at Hermann Park (which is sort of like our Central Park…zoo, train, museums, etc.)  Every year, HITS Theater puts on the opening show of the season for two weekends.  So for the last 10 years I’ve been in those shows.  These have been some of the most phenomenal experiences of my life.  When I started doing it I was in the chorus of Annie Get Your Gun, and by the last few years I was singing lead roles. (The beautiful picture of me at the bottom is when I was one of the ugly stepsisters in Cinderella last year…my husband was VERY proud.)  Part of the magic for me is the environment.  Even though HITS is technically “community” theatre, this production is entirely professional.  They bring in beautiful sets, incredible costumes, there are union stagehands, a professional orchestra…it’s a truly unbelievable experience for an actress.  And then there’s the audience.  On a nice evening, there can be literally thousands of people sitting on the hill watching the show.  And that’s on top of the thousand or so that are sitting in the seats up front.  So, like I said, it’s AMAZING.

 

At this point, you may be wondering what this has to do with my impatience.  Well, this is the first year in a LONG time that I haven’t done the show.  And I’m going to be honest:  it hurt.  It started with a knot in my stomach at about 5:30 on the day of the show when I normally would’ve been headed to the theater to start getting ready.  And the sadness stayed with me throughout the evening.  Don’t get me wrong, I was thrilled for my friends who performed and I was utterly proud of their performances, but I was VERY jealous.  I’ve been waiting for 8 months now for God to show me that I’m going to get to do theater in San Antonio.  That I still have amazing performances in MY future.  And I’m still waiting.  And it’s hard.

 

The theater scene isn’t the same here; the theaters aren’t the same, the shows aren’t the same, it’s just NOT THE SAME.  And I liked it in Houston, so of course I want it to be…wait for it… THE SAME!  I want to be going to rehearsals, memorizing lines, even dealing with backstage drama.  NOT waiting around for something to finally happen. 

 

But that’s not where God has me right now.  Right now He has me waiting.  And like I said, I’m impatient.

 

 

6 Responses to “I’M BACK!!!”

  1. Amy Seay April 23, 2008 at 2:49 am #

    I’m sorry about the waiting. It’s no fun. I’ll be praying that you will find what you are wanting in San Antonio. Until then, pull out the hairbrush, put on some Julie Andrews or Lea Salonga and go to town! I love you!

  2. Julie April 23, 2008 at 6:53 am #

    Waiting stinks!! It’s so hard to feel like you are in a state of limbo. I always feel like, “Uh…hello, God? An answer anytime now would be great.”
    Jeannette Clift George has a great quote in one of her books, “God is NEVER late. He misses a lot of opportunites to be early, but He’s never late.” I can relate to that one!

  3. Patrick April 24, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    Oh My Goodness Katy! I could have written that same thing. Dallas is not the same as Houston either. When you sent me that picture of you and Valerio, I was SO jealous. I would have been happy to just be in the chorus of Peter Pan. As you know, The King and I with you was my best theater performance (Hair at CPH was my favorite).

    God told me that I was going to have to start over in Dallas. He said that he wanted me back on the stage because He knows how much I love it and He wants me to be happy. I finally listened and auditioned for The Music Man up here. Mind you, I played Harold Hill at The Wortham! These people in Dallas could not have cared less. I was cast in the show, but I’m in the chorus. I DON’T EVEN GET A SCRIPT! Guess what – It doesn’t matter and I’m so happy just to be in a show! It turns out that this is even better because God knows my real world obligations so I need to start small up here. He also knows that I will be in the best position to prove my skills to this director who has connections to other directors in Dallas. I will also have access to other Dallas actors whom I can befriend and tag along with to other auditions. It’s also intriguing that He had me go for this show – one where I know the part like the back of my hand and can step in if something terrible happens to the guy playing it! Not that I want anything bad to happen to Don, but preparation just might meet opportunity!

  4. FancyPants April 24, 2008 at 9:09 pm #

    I waited 6 years, though I didn’t always know what it was I was waiting for. I think sometimes that can be worse. But you know your goal and your desire. Your dream. That’s something not everyone realizes or embraces. Keep praying and God will open the right doors!

    In that 6 years I was waiting for theater, I married my husband. Sometimes when we wait for one dream it’s because God is fulfilling another.

    And in that 6 years, I grew in my walk with Christ, my confidence, and my talent more than any other time in my life. It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it.

  5. Amy Finkelstein April 25, 2008 at 12:53 am #

    KATTTTY!! MOVE HOME and let Abigail do HITS and then one day she really can be Tiger Lily!! 😦 Thats the answer, stop being impatient and MOVE BACK TO HOUSTON! Problem Solved. you’re welcome 🙂

  6. Barb April 25, 2008 at 7:05 am #

    Yes, I agree that the arts in San Antonio are not the same as Houston. But check out the Magik Theatre. You might like it…
    http://www.magiktheatre.org/about/index.html

Leave a Reply

