English 101 – Memoirs

23 Apr

So I told you a couple of weeks ago how much I enjoyed the Julie Andrews memoir.  Last week I read another one:  ‘Tis by Frank McCourt.  It’s the story of a guy who came to NYC from Ireland in the late ’40’s.  I loved it.  So now I’ve decided that the memoir is my new favorite genre.

 

What memoirs have you read and enjoyed? 

4 Responses to “English 101 – Memoirs”

  1. Amy Seay April 24, 2008 at 2:45 am #

    Traveling Mercies by Anne Lammott is a really good one, and Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller was also a good read.

  2. janemumey April 24, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    When do you have time to “read”? I have to do books on tape to get any literary input! I loved Katherine Graham’s book Personal History. Also, Bridesmaids by Judith Quine (she was a bridemaid in Grace Kelly’s wedding and the book is about the whirlwind that ensued for her friends that were in her wedding after the engagement to the prince of Monaco!)

  3. meg April 25, 2008 at 5:31 am #

    I can’t remember the title of the book, but I really enjoyed Christopher Reeve’s book.

  4. estallings0911 April 28, 2008 at 8:07 pm #

    OK, the best autobiography I’ve ever read – and don’t laugh – was Patty Duke’s “Call Me Anna.” Seriously, it was JUICY! But it was also really great. It talked a lot about her struggle with manic depression. I know a lot of people who suffer from that, so it was pretty eye-opening. Anyway, you should check it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

