French Toast

14 Apr

 

This morning I made French Toast.  It is one of my dad’s specialties, and lately my youngin’ has been asking for it alot.  (My dad is an amazing, amazing cook; brought on by the fact that he was born and raised in New Orleans.  Also, he has chosen the name Pappadeaux as his “grandpa” name for the same reaons.)

So we’re standing at the stove making the french toast, and we have a little conversation that I thought might make you smile this Monday morning. 

Mom, I bet Tricia (best friend across the street) never has french toast.  Because she doesn’t have a Pappadeaux.

Well, she has a grandfather, and perhaps they make french toast, I don’t know.

Yes, but he’s not Pappadeaux.  There’s probably only one Pappadeaux for every million kids.

Do you mean one grandfather named Pappadeaux, or one grandfather as cool as Pappadeaux?

As cool as him.  He’s the coolest grandfather in the whole world.  And there’s only one of him.

(Smile.)  You’re right, Abigail, you are a very lucky girl to have your very own Pappadeaux.

Those of you who know my dad know that Abigail has hit it right on the money with this one.  He’s the bomb-diggity, and definitely one in a million.  Have a great day, dad!!

4 Responses to “French Toast”

  1. The Introvert April 14, 2008 at 9:57 pm #

    Awww. That reminds me of the relationship I had with my grandfather (I called him Pap). We were totally BFFs 🙂

  2. Barb April 15, 2008 at 8:58 am #

    Amen to that! I miss seeing your dad, and he looks great in the picture!!

  3. Julie Ottosen April 15, 2008 at 9:42 pm #

    Love the picture…and I think Abigail actually looks like your dad! Have a great day!

  4. Ives April 25, 2008 at 1:04 am #

    Awww, I love that Pappadeaux!

Leave a Reply

