Where is Pointer?

8 Apr

I injured my right pointer finger just before my show on Sunday morning.  SERIOUSLY injured my finger.  (I’m not going to give all the gory details, just in case you’re the queasy type, but suffice it to say it was really gross.  And I’m an operating room nurse, so that tells you how gross it was.)  There’s not anything I can do about it…a stitch won’t help.  So I’m going to have a pressure dressing and a band-aid on my pointer finger for quite a while.

Why am I telling you this?  Because today is Right Pointer Finger Appreciation Day.  I am right-handed.  And one could argue that Mr. Pointer is the most important of the five appendages on said hand.  And now I don’t have him.  Let me tell you a few of the things that have been made rather difficult without the use of my friend.

  • putting in my contacts
  • typing
  • right-clicking
  • washing my hair
  • opening my diet coke
  • shaking my finger at my 9 year old (Oh wait, I can still do that.  I’m just shaking a big ugly band-aid at her.)

Okay, so now that I’ve written it out it’s not as bad as I first thought, but it ain’t easy either.  I’ve always liked the verse about All the parts of the body are important…and it’s for just this reason.  Without Mr. Pointer, I’m lost.  LOST I tell you. 

Leave a Reply

