English 101

2 Apr

I’ve noticed that lots of people who do a daily blog have a weekly recurring theme.  For instance, Shannon at Rocks in my Dryer has “Works For Me Wednesdays”…everybody sends her ideas for stuff that, well, works for them. 

Therefore I am hereby instituting English 101.  Each Wednesday I’ll pose a question regarding some form of literature.  YOU should read the question and RESPOND.  Then come back frequently to see what others are saying.  See, that’s the fun of it!

I have recently been trying to read some of the classics/authors that I slept through in high school and college.  (I love to read, but English class was never my thing.  I just didn’t get it.  But I’m trying to…it’s never too late, right?)  So here’s the question:

What is your favorite classic?  

14 Responses to “English 101”

  1. Kimberlee April 2, 2008 at 11:56 pm #

    The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde…I can’t remember if I finished it, but I liked it.
    Frankenstein by Mary Shelley was cool.
    Right now I’m reading The Six Wives of Henry VIII by Alison Weir…very thick book…I’m determined to finish it by summertime! Okay…maybe the end of summer!

  2. Kelly @ Love Well April 3, 2008 at 12:25 am #

    I love Shakespeare. But really, I’m woeful on the classics. I somehow managed to graduate high school without ever taking a serious literature class. I tried to make up for it by taking a few lit classes in college, but the stuffy English papers required at the end of the class did me in. I was a journalism major, and I didn’t have time for the antiquated formatting my professors required.

  3. Jenny, Bloggess April 3, 2008 at 4:35 am #

    The first time I read this as “the authors I slept with during high school”. I was all “I thought I was the only one who did that!”

    Anyway, “Jane Eyre”. Totally.

  4. Jenny, Bloggess April 3, 2008 at 4:37 am #

    Oh and “In Cold Blood”.

    Love that damn book.

  5. Jenny, Bloggess April 3, 2008 at 7:06 am #

    Okay, I left another comment before that one. I can only imagine that it was deleted because it was too offensive.

  6. Julie Ottosen April 3, 2008 at 7:30 am #

    I LOVED Wuthering Heights!! I was so lucky to have an incredible English teacher in high school that inspired me to actually read the classics!

  7. msureed April 3, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    Anything by Jane Austen. She was a feminist in her time and had some great characters. I was an English and Theatre major in college, so I covered most of the classics. On the other hand, I didn’t care for Falkner.

  8. Kregg April 3, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

    Is Jurassic Park a classic? Probably not. So, I will have to go with…Jurassic Park.

  9. janemumey April 3, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    I loved “Misty of the Chincotique” (sp?) horses in Scotland story. All the “Little House on the Prairie”. “Animal Farm” and “Treasure Island” were on my high school book list that I enjoyed. jane

  10. kathrynsmoore April 3, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    Kim – I’ll try the Oscar Wilde. Yay.
    Kelly – I wrote all of my high school English papers on Shakespeare. I was an aspiring actress, so I thought he was fantastic. I have a hard time reading old Will just for fun, though.
    Jenny – I want to know what you said!!!
    Julie – I loved Wuthering Heights too.
    Meg – I often wonder, if we would have read Jane Austen in high school, would I have gotten it? I love Jane, but it’s definitely something I’ve come to in later life.
    Kregg – no comment
    Jane – Little House is a big time favorite. And I recently got Abigail Misty… from the library, although she wasn’t ready yet, so we returned it.

    Thanks everyone for all your suggestions!! Tune in next Wednesday for more ENGLISH 101.

  11. Jenny, Bloggess April 3, 2008 at 11:19 pm #

    My disappearing comment was:

    The first time I read this I thought it said “I was trying to remember the authors I slept with in high school” and I was all “Damn. This girl gets around.”

    Best classic ever: Jane Eyre.

  12. msureed April 4, 2008 at 2:26 am #

    Didn’t we read Pride and Prejudice in high school? I know I had read a few before I hit senior sem. I still credit Ms. Tull for bringing out the love of literature in me. Still, its hard to get anyone with a bad case of senioritis to read anything other than the cliffnotes….

  13. kathrynsmoore April 4, 2008 at 6:44 pm #

    I definitely did not read any Jane Austen in high school. Lots of Bronte, but no Austen.

  14. Patrick April 11, 2008 at 12:32 am #

    My classic would be Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I also hated to read (novels) in high school and college. I did love the plays and poetry, but hated the novels because the teachers did not make them interesting.

    Katy gave me a copy of Uncle Tom’s Cabin when we did The King and I at Miller Theater. That book is referenced several times in the musical. I cannot believe how good that book was. I felt bad that I was in my late 30’s before discovering it.

Leave a Reply

