Car Update

31 Mar

Okay, so I haven’t decided on the car yet.  What I have decided is that I need more information.  I need the nitty gritty.  For instance, when I go to Target to buy toilet paper and laundry detergent and come home with the big plastic pool, is that thing going to fit in the back?  Or when I’m going slightly over the 65 mph speed limit and I see a cop, can I slam on the brakes without sending everything flying through the front windshield? 

 I’ve taken both of these cars (reminder:  Ford Edge and Honda CR-V) for a test drive, but I think I need to do it again.  This time, I’ll walk up to the salesman while holding a large drink. 

Hello, I’d like to go for another test drive.  I need to see if my Diet Coke (large, from McDonald’s, because they have the best ice to syrup to carbonation ratio) will stay intact under the following conditions:

  • fast corner
  • bumpy driveway, forward, at an angle
  • bumpy driveway, in reverse, at an angle
  • speed bumps
  • slammed brakes
  • while reaching into the back seat to do any number of things and the car somehow momentarily swerves
  • etc, etc, etc.

Seriously, I think I’m going to do this.  Whichever car wins the Diet Coke challenge might be the right pick. 

4 Responses to “Car Update”

  1. Melinda March 31, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    I love the idea of the Diet Coke test, only my test would be with a Dr. Pepper. If you are going to be spending that kind of money, you should really be able to a REAL test drive like you mentioned above.
    I have always been a GM or Ford consumer, but my current car is a Honda Accord. They do get great gas mileage. I’m about ready for an upgrade to a SUV of some kind due to having a child with a car seat and all of the stuff that it takes to go anywhere with an infant.

  2. Erin April 1, 2008 at 11:50 am #

    I think that is a fabulous idea! I hope you go for the Edge – I want that car so badly, but I think we’re looking at the Murano. Anyway, let us know how it works for you!

  3. Kregg April 1, 2008 at 12:51 pm #

    Wow. You sound like a wonderful driver…um…err…yeah.

  4. Amy Seay April 3, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    I knew we were sisters in another life! Brian teases me endlessly because I must have my Coke from McDonald’s — the only place that has the secret syrup/carbonation/ice combination. I miss you!

Leave a Reply

