Cotton Candy and a Snow Cone

26 Mar

img00015.jpg 

Last week a friend of ours gave us tickets to High School Musical:  The Ice Tour.  Abigail was thrilled.  I was somewhat less thrilled, but still enthusiastic.  Abigail and I headed out on Wednesday for a GNO (Girls Night Out for those of you who don’t get enough of these to need an acronym, myself included.) 

We managed to find FREE parking, and I thought maybe this was a sign of things to come.  Free tickets, free parking, heck, this isn’t going to cost me a dime! 

Truth be told I was planning on buying cotton candy, because I LOVE cotton candy and I always buy it if it’s available.  (I mean, you never know when you’re next going to have the opportunity!)  However, I wasn’t prepared for TWELVE DOLLAR cotton candy.  Yes, folks, I said $12.00.  For one bag of cotton candy, with a plastic “Ryan” fedora attached to the top.  Was the cotton candy available without the fedora?  No.  But still, I’m thinking, it’s okay, the tickets were free, the parking was free…it’s all good. 

Abigail, on the other hand, wanted a snow cone.  I grew up in a world where we rarely got these kinds of treats.  My dad would fill us up with cheap food before we went to one of these things, and then we’d drink water from the water fountain while we were there.  So I enjoy the fact that on occasion I can splurge and get my daughter a fun treat.  But a FOURTEEN DOLLAR snow cone?  Yep, you heard it.  14 bucks.  For a snow cone in a handy to-go water bottle-type thing.  Did they have snow cones in a plastic cup?  No.

 So, $26.00 later, we head to our seats.  I’m thinking, well, that sucked, but at least now we can start the show and not worry about it.  That lasted about a second.  Because here comes the guy with all the light-up toys.  Light-up microphone, light-up necklace, light-up twirly thing.  And the whining begins.  Mooooommmmmm (imagine the voice going up and down in a typical 9 year old fashion) I HAVE to have the microphone so I can sing along during the show! 

 Those of you who know me know that I am a singer.  And while my daughter is hearing-impaired and may never sing a beautiful note in her life I nonetheless want her to love singing as much as I do.  There is nothing in the world that makes me happier than holding a microphone and singing my brains out.  Maybe it’ll be that way for her someday.  Probably not, but will this High School Musical Light-Up Microphone be the difference?  Is today the first day of the rest of her singing life??  Will she be so inspired by these singers on ice skates that it changes the course of her own history???

 Sir, how much is the microphone?

$20.00.

Pause.

Nope.  Sorry.  Can’t do it.  I literally don’t have $20 left in my pocket.  And Target sells really cool microphones in the dollar spot.  (Lots and lots and lots more whining.)  And then God had mercy on me and the lights went down and the show started.

She loved it.  Until intermission, when we had to go through it all again.  And then on the way out, when we had to pass the gigantic carts of goods, all of which can belong to your child for mere hundreds of dollars.  I pushed the doors open and felt a breath of fresh air as we left the Alamodome.  I breathed a sigh of relief that the parent torture was over.  Until the guy selling Half-Price Color Programs greeted us just outside.  Good grief.

 Abigail was so focused on the “stuff” that I don’t even know if she remembers the show.   She was convinced that I was lying about not having any more money.  She was sure I was just being mean.  I asked her if she had heard anything recently about the state of the American economy.  (No.)  I took the opportunity to remind her that blah blah blah we need to make smart decisions blah blah blah lots of children don’t even get to see an ice show blah blah blah there are people in San Antonio who don’t even have food to eat blah blah blah.   She tuned me out.  Not interested.

 I was mad.  Mad at Disney for cramming all that crap down our children’s throats.  Mad at society for encouraging our children to always want more and never be satisfied.  Mad at myself for raising a spoiled child. 

9 Responses to “Cotton Candy and a Snow Cone”

  1. Kregg March 26, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    $12 Cotton Candy & $14 Sno Cone? I hope they kissed you on the mouth first…cause you got “fastened into wood with either a phillips or flat head.” No, but seriously. Seriously.

  2. kathrynsmoore March 26, 2008 at 9:39 pm #

    I knew I was getting, er, fastened, but I was a willing victim, no doubt about it.

  3. Kregg March 26, 2008 at 9:57 pm #

    There are so many humorous responses, so little time.

  4. janemumey March 28, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    Katy, Rick’s old boss gave us his 4 Rodeo Action Seats (includes free dinner & non-alcoholic drinks) for Hanna Montana. It cost us almost $200.00 for the four of us to get from the parking lot, through the carnival (which we didn’t even go to) past the Miley World area, through Reliant to our seats and back again 4 hours later! The best was Jack in his very tired little voice saying “Mom, that was to much for my ears. Can I stay home next year.”!

  5. Doug March 29, 2008 at 1:28 am #

    I don’t recall the “grapes of wrath” experience of major childhood events as you do. Dad bought me everything I wanted and some things I didn’t. Not really. But seriously.

    I would add that a conversation over a the absurdity of a $5 milkshake between John Travolta and Uma Thurman merited 3 minutes in what some consider one of the best movies of our generation. So there is definitely a precedent for your rant in this modern blog world.

    All in all, a lucid blog!

  6. Leslie April 1, 2008 at 12:59 am #

    As a child of the 70’s, one of those things I find great joy in is civil disobedience. My favorite acts are those in which no one gets hurt except for the cash that no one knows they are not receiving. For example – how many teens can you pile into a station wagon or a VW van at the drive-in?? Whole bunches!!!! (i think once we had about 15 or so). How many goodies can you fit into a rather large handbag going into the movies??? How does 4 eggrolls, a qt of chocolate milk, a bagel and a 4-pack of wine coolers grab ya? I duck under fences too. Some fun! But I always tip 20% or more for good service and write letters to HEB managers for “partners” going out of their way to be nice or helpful. Try the handbag next outting. Tell little ms. “spoiled one” you are on a picnic! Juju’s anyone?

  7. Kathryn April 1, 2008 at 3:10 am #

    WOW. That’s about all I have. Just a dropped jaw, a look of disbelief and the occasional “wow” scattered throughout my reading of your blog.

    I will never complain about $5 cotton candy at Minute Maid Park again.

  8. Kristi Lewis April 1, 2008 at 3:37 am #

    I totally get what you are saying. One of the reasons we don’t go to those things is because of all the pressure to “buy and have”. I always leave feeling like you. Here’s to having a similar childhood!

  9. Kimberlee April 3, 2008 at 12:02 am #

    Let’s take Mickey hostage and start a revolution!

Leave a Reply

