Key to a Happy Marriage

25 Mar

Sorry, I haven’t found THE key to a happy marriage, but I’m always looking.  I heard something on the news this morning that strangely corresponded to a friend’s recent blog.  Apparently, a study has been released that says that women who marry ugly men have happier marriages.  This goes hand in hand with my friend Brian’s theory that men always marry up, and women always marry down, hotness-wise.  Personally I married a guy who is hotter than me, so I guess I’m out of luck on this one. 

 I have a good friend who will be getting married this year, and I was trying to think of advice to give him as he enters this blessed union.   Not pithy advice, but the real stuff…what I wish someone would have told me.  (Not that I would’ve listened…why did I think I knew EVERYTHING at age 21?)  This is what I’ve come up with:  You’re going to change.  She’s going to change.  Your marriage is going to change.  Don’t fight it…go with it. 

It’s not earth-shattering, but somehow I managed to live in complete denial of this fact for years.  Once I embraced who we are today, and quit trying to make us who we were 14 years ago, life got a little simpler.

 So what advice do you have?  I’d love to hear it.

5 Responses to “Key to a Happy Marriage”

  1. Erin March 25, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    My advice? I say COMMUNICATION!!! Honestly, Adam and I say absolutely everything to each other and we don’t hold back. At first, it was hard getting used to – especially for him b/c I can be pretty harsh. It’s worth it, though. The other key? LAUGH! Be able to laugh at yourself, your marriage, your problems, and just go w/ it. And lastly, marry your best friend. There’s no one in this world I’d rather hang out w/ than Adam. God first, marriage second, children third, family and friends fourth, work fifth. That’s my order.

  2. Meghann March 25, 2008 at 10:24 pm #

    i think you are hot, whatcha talkin bout Willis?! 😉

  3. santry March 27, 2008 at 5:40 pm #

    You are definitely hotter, especially in that pic. with the big bangs and even bigger glasses

  4. Barb April 1, 2008 at 2:05 am #

    Well, I also married someone hotter than me and I think we are doing pretty good! My advice is similar to yours about change: Love your spouse as they are, warts and all, without expecting them to change. After 16 years, I feel that I am the one who has changed, and Paul not so much.

  5. Kimberlee April 3, 2008 at 12:05 am #

    you know you’re hot, Special K!
    me? bachelorette for life!!!

Leave a Reply

