Buying a car

24 Mar

I need a new car.  My Expolodah is old and ragged and unreliable at best.  It’s time.  But I am absolutely UNINTERESTED in buying a new car.  It’s just not something that really gets me excited.  I’ve test-driven two different models:  the Ford Edge (we are a Ford family) and the Honda CRV (a MAJOR act of treason).  The Edge is slightly more luxurious and a little bit bigger.  The CRV gets much better gas mileage and is theoretically more reliable in the long run.  What to do????

11 Responses to “Buying a car”

  1. brianseay March 25, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    This is easy! I know you really liked your Mom’s Bronco II in HS (and who didn’t?) but Honda is a far superior automobile to Ford. Walk away from loyalty and come over to quality!

  2. Amy Seay March 25, 2008 at 3:20 pm #

    Go with the better gas milage. I’m soooo glad you have a blog now! I love my Katy stories!

  3. Shaun Groves March 25, 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    We have a saying in my family – actually it’s more of a taunt hurled at my father – “Buy American. And when that breaks, buy American again.”

  4. kathrynsmoore March 25, 2008 at 3:58 pm #

    We have the same saying. And in my current car it cost us a new engine at year 5. I’m in a buck-the-trend kind of mood. I think it might be time…

  5. anne jackson March 25, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    Every American car I have had has tanked out…but, every foreign car I have had has never EVER let me down.

    We finally were able to transition to two foreign cars…an Isuzu and a VW.

    HONDA. (said by voting with both my hands in the air…does that count for two?)

  6. janemumey March 25, 2008 at 5:58 pm #

    Katy,
    Also drive the Toyota Highlander Hybrid – My volvo station “dragon” wagon is still chugging along so I am about a year out – but a friend got the Highlander when she traded her Ford Expedition and loves…..it! jane

  7. Amy Finkelstein March 25, 2008 at 6:25 pm #

    HI KATY! I just bought a car last week! I went for the sexy convertable this time around because the Ford Focus was DONE FOR!! I miss you and im so happy you started a blog!

  8. Janet March 25, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    This is my first blog experience – you’re keeping me ‘hip’!!! All I have to say is that my 1986 Honda Prelude lasted to 250k miles…

  9. Meghann March 25, 2008 at 10:22 pm #

    everyone i know that has a CRV LOVES it, and with gas going up up up, i would go for the gas mileage, cuz you know you are only going to get busier as abby gets older! Muah! m

  10. Barb March 27, 2008 at 2:29 am #

    Okay, here comes Katy’s long awaited TV debut on none other than…..Divorce Court. Reason for divorce? “She didn’t buy a Ford!”

    Come on! Just be smart and get the Honda!

    (But if you really want to buy American, look at Saturn…)

  11. Kimberlee April 3, 2008 at 12:06 am #

    I was a Ford girl…Once you go foreign, you’ll never go back!

Leave a Reply

