Security

20 Mar

A few weeks ago, my husband and I visited the Statue of Liberty.  He has never been, and I haven’t been since I was 18 (a few years ago…) While the Lady looks great, I was most taken by the level of security that surrounds her. 

In order to board the ferry to get to the Statue, we went through “airport security”.  You know, take off all your coats, hats, gloves, belts, watches, etc. and walk through the metal detector.  Now since I have my friend The Pacemaker, I don’t get to walk through a metal detector.  I get the pat down.  Every time.  I’ve done it so many times it doesn’t bother me at all (although sometimes you get the aggressive lady who really wants to make sure you’re not packin’ in your crotch!!) It always makes me laugh me when I tell the first security guy I have a pacemaker and he stutters and says, “You??  Um, o-okay.” And I enjoy watching the looks on strangers faces who stare, and I know they’re thinking “She doesn’t look like a terrorist, but they must’ve found SOMETHING or they wouldn’t be doing that!”Anyway, we get through that, get re-bundled because it’s about 30 degrees outside, and get on the boat. 

 Once we get over to the Statue we find that in order to enter the museum and go to the observation deck (about 5 stories up) we’ll need to go through another security line.  So we wait for about 40 minutes in a covered tent (not heated, but at least not bone-cold).  The security area is in another closed tent, and you cannot see what they’re doing.  Once you finally go through the door you realize that’s it’s another “airport security” line, but this one has a bonus:  The Puffer.  If you haven’t experienced The Puffer, it’s a little closet that you stand in while air blows on your to make sure you don’t have any explosive residue on your clothes.  It’s easy, but it takes a minute to decide that you’re clean and there’s this moment when you’re standing there thinking “what if they mistake those muffin crumbs for something worse?” So we get through The Puffer, and then it’s the pat down all over again. 

Finally, after about 1 1/2 hours, we get to enter the Statue of Liberty.As we stood in line, I watched parents trying to explain to their kids what was going on…what we were waiting for.  I am struck by the fact that Abigail will grow up knowing nothing different than long security lines everywhere you go.  Taking off your shoes at the airport…walking through metal detectors…even standing in The Puffer.  This is her world.  And it makes me very, very sad. 

So we climb 197 stairs to get to the deck, and we look back at lower Manhattan which is decidedly bare without the Towers, and we contemplate liberty.  And I realize that little by little, there’s less and less of it.  And that in order to keep it, I have to give mine away, in a pat down and a puffer.

One Response to “Security”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100 Things for My 100th Post (aka The Stupidest Post Ever) « funny girl - October 29, 2008

    […] This is one of the first blogs I ever wrote, and it’s one of my […]

Leave a Reply

